OUT OF THE BLUE myspace.com/out_of_the_blue646

Local and National Band Interviews!

OTEP

leave a comment »

     It’s 3:57PM, and as I pick up the phone to call my interviewee, I can feel the butterflies welling up in my stomach.  I can’t remember the last time I felt this nervous yet extremely excited all in the same instance.  All I can think is breathe deep, and just be yourself. 

     The person I’m calling is Otep Shamaya, the namesake and lead vocalist of the band Otep.  Most know her for her growling, intense vocal style.  But for those who are true fans, she is known for her passion, honesty, raw lyrics and ideas. 

The story of Otep began in 2000 when the band formed in Los Angeles, California.     

     While playing the scene, they were noticed by another very powerful woman, Sharon Osbourne.  Mrs. Osbourne offered the band a slot on Ozzfest 2001 as a second stage act.  Once the masses heard the message, there was no turning back.

     Otep is not only a vocalist, but she is also a poet, a writer.  She has published a collection of writing and drawings, which is available on the web on Lulu.Com.  Also, she has written many tour diaries, posted on YouTube, discussing life on the road and recent concert experiences. 

     The band is currently on tour, and when asked how the tour is progressing, Otep explains, “The crowds have been outrageous.  But the most incredible thing so far is the fan’s reaction to the unreleased record.”  She also informs me that bassist “Evil” J. McGuire cut open his leg during one of the shows, resulting in 23 stitches and no cancelled dates. 

     As Otep speaks, I realize how laid back and soft spoken she is.  This is not what most would expect, considering her music and writing.  I feel more relaxed and ready to dive into the deep questions.

    The band’s unreleased album, The Ascension, is my next topic of conversation.  Although it is not in stores yet, fans can hear tracks on various websites, such as MySpace and the band’s own site.  Otep reveals her master plan for the album: 

“I decided to take what I loved from Sevas Tra and House of Secrets and fuse the ideas together.  I went back to some books and writing that I had done while making those albums and tried to rediscover some of the elements from them and build on that.”

     I find the title of the new album interesting. According to the dictionary, the word ‘ascension’ has a biblical connotation—Christians use it to describe Christ’s journey from Earth to Heaven.  I ask if this album is a spiritual rising for Otep, to which she replies, “It’s more like a celebration of overcoming, a victory over obstacles, spiritually and emotionally.”

     Otep strives to rise above and create music and art that is more evolved and different for prior projects.  This is not only portrayed in their music, but also by Otep herself.  Like most artists, she is constantly perfecting her art to make it better than it was before.

One topic I’m eager to touch on is the state of our nation.  Otep tells me she believes our government/society will be better in the next five years.  “I think we will get America back,” she said.  “I think that people have had enough of the bullshit and are ready to make things better.”

     Otep’s music and lyrical content is very raw and emotionally charged.  This is one of the things I love the most about the band. Not many artists right now are truly here to make a difference, to break the mold and make music that is art.  I ask Otep is she ever feels emotionally vulnerable when sharing her innermost feelings with millions of fans.  “I find safety in art.  It’s my way of stepping outside of myself and communicating my feelings.”

     Sylvia Plath, Anne Sexton and Jim Morrison rank among some of Otep’s biggest influences. Courtney Love, Radiohead, and even Mazzy Star are on that list as well.  Otep adds, “I have always considered myself more a poet than a musician.” 

     As I wrap up our conversation, I take time to tell Otep how much her music matters.  In a society where people expect you to be black or white, male or female, normal or abnormal, Otep (as well as the rest of the band) show us the gray in between.  She truly believes in being who you truly are, and not conforming to what you are expected to be.  And people like this are rare and hard to find. 

 Written By Tiffany White as published in Out Of The Blue, Copyright, Out Of The Blue Publications, 2007

Written by Out Of The Blue Publications

December 14, 2007 at 6:58 pm

Leave a comment